Translate

Friday, October 11, 2013

New reviews of 'Man by a tree' FREE on 14th+15th October!

Thank you Christoph and Tallyrand! Two 5* reviews! This ebook will be free on Monday and Tuesday :-)

5.0 out of 5 stars Angels, death and hobgoblins October 9, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
"Man by a Tree" by Dani J. Caile is an entertaining and clever short novel in the tradition of Douglas Adams, Monthy Python and Terry Pratchett.
It playfully concerns God, Death, Satan and some angels in their daily routine of doing their job. Trying to see those mythical creatures as human or employees with job descriptions and a sense of humour worked remarkably well for me. Unlike other works in the religious parody/ fantasy spectrum Caile never turns disrespectful or offensive, his story is mostly pleasant and light hearted.
Making Death and God mere employers however serves as a reflection on modern life, the changes for better and for worse since the bible was written and when the concept of God and Satan entered our human consciousness. Would I like to live forever, I wondered, when everything established and comfortably known is replaced by new things? I very much liked Graham Reader (as the Grim Reaper is known in the book)and his fellow immortals.
If you cannot see the deeper and philosophical side to this story you can still enjoy it for the playful and original writing and plot. Very readable.


5.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating and Entertaining September 30, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I have been a fan of this author since reading Manna-X and this book doesn't disappoint. It's one of Dani J Caile's early work but all the elements of the later works are here. Recommended for anyone looking for a bit of intellectual escapism.

No comments:

Post a Comment